Sherlock Holmes

Image via Wikipedia

A mystery to be solved my readers, something strange is afoot.

I will note forthwith the events, which transpired on the night last in the hopes that you can help, solve this most vexing conundrum. Read these notes carefully dear sleuths so that we can rumble the culprit in the case of the mysteriously overheating items.

I pray thee take note of the following list after which I will reveal to you the strange story that has me most vexated.

In my pocket I had these items I doth disclose to you:

Twain (2) Duracell Rechargable/Precharged AAA NiMH 1.2V 800mAh batteries.
One Single 4Gb Lexar Twist Drive
Thrice Pens, Twain Gel Pens and One Single generic pen.
Twain house keys on a fob.
And a collection of coins thus represented:
Twain dollars in Quarter-dollars.
8 fold dimes making 80 cents.
7 fold pennies making 7 pence.

How Events Unfolded Night Last

Upon paying for my planned purchases with the shop proprietor he engaged me in enjoyable conversation. He elucidated that in yonder back room everything was in much disorder but mixed betwixt various books I might find pamphlets of interest at a Quarter dollar an item!

So I made my way to the back room and it was much as he described, more disordered than even my own room as a youngster. I tell no tall tale! Upon placing my satchel on the floor I began the laborious process of minutely examining each bookshelf of which there were in fact 20, to look for intriguing material.

It was not long before I began to get rather impatient, I after all am a person that likes to get on with things, and I wasn’t finding anything of interest. So I made to conduct my search in a greatly expedited fashion, when I felt a sudden and unexpected blossoming of heat in the right pocket of my pantaloons!

Needless to say I was rather concerned, and quite rightly as it smelled as if my pocket were about to combust. Straight-a-way I evacuated the items out of my pocket which proved painful for each and every one of them was blazing hot, like the heat from a stove top, I placed them all on top of one of the bookcases to cool.

The proprietor of the shop noting my discomfort and my rather unbecoming verbal fusillade came to my side. Upon my explanation he touched both the coins and the batteries and discovered they were still quite hot indeed.

All told sleuths I was another quarter-hour in the establishment before I was able to pocket my items (I placed the batteries in a lone pocket on my satchel), pay for my one single quarter-dollar item and be on my way to my next appointment.

Now You Have All the Clues…

Can you sleuth out my quandary? Has this knowledge tickled your cranium? Or perhaps the mystery will go unsolved, forever.

Ross

Fare thee well!

