Director Justin Lin

Well Justin Lin is sure making certain that he stays on story developments and news outlets and what they’re saying bout T5. MTV chatted with the director about the rumor that I posted about lst time of the Original cast coming back for Terminator 2012 if that’s even the title.

He responded quite rightly as any director would:

“No. I don’t know where that came from,” he said of that particular report. “Everything has just been between me and Arnold, you know? Just us going out and trying to find the right partners. I have certain elements, but it’s never been about, ‘Hey, let’s bring everybody back!’ I just don’t process that way. To me, thematically, there are certain things that I want to see in a ‘Terminator’ movie. A lot of that does draw back to creating this timeline that is an extension, closer tonally to the first and second movies. But to me, it’s not as mathematical as, ‘Hey, let’s get everybody back together and we’ll shoot the movie.'”

Justin is absolutely right, and I have a feeling many will be enouraged by a future that’s more fitting with James Camerons original T1-T2 timeline.

That said he talks in the remainder of the article about the ability to tinker with timeline elements so that those who actually like RotM and Salvation can still consider them to be an equal part of the saga as T5.

I’m not going to post that here but you can read the direct quotes from the link to the MTV Article at the bottom of this post.

I have to say I’m very impressed with Justin as a director, I saw Fast Five opening day and I think he’s certainly got the goods to do a mighty fine job of revitalizing the Terminator franchise. I’m excited by his somments of making a film mopre thematically and visually in line with a logical continuation of the T1-T2 future and really hope that T5 does continue to move ahead as it seems like we’ve got a very good scenario developing.

MTV Article: Read Away!

More as it breaks.

Ross Out.

