Hey Folks!

There’s been quite a bit of talk about Terminator: Genisys in the last week from actor Jai Courtney who is playing Kyle Reese in the film which hits July 1, 2015.

He’s talked about the films POSSIBLE rating based on the film they shot and their not being any f-words in the script as likely to be PG-13. I shouldn’t need to remind anyone how dark and gritty a film can be with that rating. I will also remind you that the film is still being edited, sound designed, digital effects created and fine tuned etc. and thus for obvious reasons the film itself has not been submitted for a rating from the MPAA.

He also mentioned that it was kind of funny working with the endoskeleton actors in that they were people dressed in performance capture suits. This has me very excited as such technology really has a chance to bring the endo armies of Skynet to life in a way that will make them seem more real than ever before.

For those who are worried about that meaning there was no puppetry work at all, we have really no information either way but I’d say that there would still be puppetry work in certain shots and circumstances. I think Terminator and Jurassic World both sequels I’m greatly looking forward to using performance capture technology for Endos and certain Dinos respectively it makes sense to embrace the advancements in technological outgrowth and film making enhancements.

Jai Courtney on Genisys

Two days ago Collider interviewed Jai Courtney on Terminator Genisys he had a few interesting comments:

“I think it’s going to be really cool what they’ve done with it. It’s curious, I’ve been thinking a lot about how we actually frame—people want to know if it’s a sequel or a reboot. A word that kind of came to me is that it’s more of a ‘reset.’ That’s the awesome thing about when you play with time travel. We can kind of get away with, you know, maybe we’re introduced to a world that audiences know but circumstances can change and that shifts the course of everything.”

On whether on not you need to have seen Terminator movies prior to seeing Genisys:

“I don’t think it’s either or.  I think it’s, if they wanted to [watch the first two films] they could but I don’t think that if they hadn’t they’ll see our film and be completely lost.”

He also talked about the slated sequels:

“They’ve already slated [the sequels].  They released their proposed released dates for the next two, so it’s cool.  Something like that, I don’t have a problem thinking that it’ll be part of my life for the next few years because I’m into it.  I like the idea of it… I feel like with this, the plan they have and the journey that we’re gonna go on from here will be different enough to not feel like we’re just repeating history.”

Once again it seems like a comparison to the latest iteration of Star Trek would seem like an apt descriptor for the kind of reset we might very well be getting. In that I doesn’t effect any of the other films that have come before it and can tell its own version of familiar events in a new way.

Also it must be noted that in his last answer he indirectly confirms that his character more than likely survives the events of  Genisys since he talks about the journey and plan that is in store in the sequels.

Since the news dropped that the film would start with familiar things and then go down a different avenue I’ve always felt that the most obvious way to do that would be to let Kyle live- it seems like I’m not far off base if I am at all.

So what does James Cameron think about this all?

On October 15th there was a special 30th anniversary screening of The Terminator. Series originator James Cameron was there and EmpireOnline asked him what his thoughts were on Genisys.

“I’m friendly with the filmmakers, the writer Laeta Kalogridis has worked with me on projects,” he said. “I’m hoping it’s great. I’d like them to get it right, and based on the script that I read there’s a pretty good chance that it could. It looks like it could be fun.”

That’s right it seems that James Cameron has read a script for Genisys and was pretty impressed by it.

When asked if it could tarnish the franchise he gave the following response.

“It’s not my problem! It’s like being a grandparent, the kids come over and you can send them back! When I walked away from the franchise, I had to do it with the sense that I can invest in emotion. To me, it’s all upside, because if it’s good, it’s good for Arnold (Schwarzenegger), my friend Laeta and if it’s not good? It doesn’t bother me personally.”

So he sees it as a win win, with friends like Arnold and Laeta involved he hopes it will be as good as the script he had a chance to read. He wants to see it succeed but doesn’t see it as something that could tarnish the franchise.

Perhaps we as fans could learn healthy separation of the two like the director we know and love?

And of course they asked him what he might do with Terminator once the rights revert to him in 2019 his answer is pretty cool for Cameron and Terminator fans:

“I haven’t really thought that far ahead yet. I’ve got plenty of time to think about it. It might be fun to completely re-invent the franchise,” he admits. “A lot has to do with what happens with it in the meantime, people may have Terminator fatigue.”

I’d wait as long as needed to see him completely  re-invent the franchise but with 3 Avatar sequels up next that could be a long while indeed.

To close I’d like to point out that with the first trailers for Jurassic World and Terminator: Genisys looking to be shown before Interstellar we should begin to see more Genisys news including the first official pictures and synopsis sooner rather than later.

Until Next Time.

Ross Out

 Collider talks to Jai Courtney!

Empire Online Talks to James Cameron!

